Like Mama like Daughter

Can-Can skirts for the entire drill team, costumes and the most incredible junior prom dress EVER.  Just a few of the things my mom sewed for me over the years.  She learned from my grandmother—an incredible seamstress who made us all sorts of clothes when we were little…we have the scars to prove it  🙂 as she always mistakenly left one straight pin in and is was  usually right in the arm hole.  As you were trying it on that sucker would scrap you from elbow to armpit. Wait.  I digress.

My junior prom dress was a red, one shouldered sequined number with a full satin skirt.  The entire back was made up of a red satin bow.  My mom and grandmother were literally hand sewing beads and sequins on the ribbons that cascaded from waist to floor as my date was walking down the porch.  Over the arm were satin leaves with bead work.  Incredible.  Incredible.  Incredible.  I would have had an even more amazing gold sequined senior prom (it was the 80’s) dress but I back talked, smart mouthed or rolled my eyes one time to many and true to her word, she sold those sequins at a garage sale and I was forced to find my own damn prom dress.  Again.  I digress.

I spent many  years in college sewing costumes.  I’ve made corsets with steel boning (Loves Labours Lost), I’ve made a tartan plaid kilt (Brigadoon)to very specific  measurements.  I’ve been given a bolt of leather and told to design and make chaps (Oklahoma!).  I’ve made 18th century gowns and a 50’s house dress.  But now I can’t sew.  🙂  Man I wish I would have paid closer attention.

Geez..off track again.

The Daddy-Daughter dance is Friday.  Kinsley and I went shopping. We only had an hour and were in a ghetto mall.  You can’t imagine the choices we had.  Polyester, fake sequins, mermaid dresses, sateen prints, rouching and silver thread.  Some of them I didn’t even want her trying on.  The prettier, non-tacky dresses were out of our price range.  Finally, she settled on a black pantsuit after securing from me a promise that we could make it a bit sassier–code for tackier.

My mom came over and we proceeded to do just that.  We basted and pasted and blinged that bad boy right up.  I was questioning my sanity about 1/2 way through the process.  We could have sprung for one of the more expensive dresses by the time we purchased bling!  Hours later I was not at all convinced that this was going to work.   In my head I remembered how I felt when mom used to say, “I can make that!” and we would walk away from the nice store-bought dresses in the store and head out for the fabric store.  At a bratty 10 I hated it.  As a more appreciative 17-year-old I realized how much more beautiful and unique my outfits were.  So I hung in there.

Tonight she tried on the ensemble one last time.  It’s still got to be pressed and fluffed.  When my brown-eyed girl looked at me and said, “Thank you MOM.  I love it!” I felt like a million bucks!  Grandmother, Mom…it’s not nearly as beautiful and as amazing as the things you did for me.  It’s a bit tacky and a bit messy. However; I did it.  I be-dazzled something that she feels beautiful in.  Hopefully one day she’ll remember and do something like this for her daughter.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Like Mama like Daughter

Leave a Reply

