Crock-Pots RULE

Mama always says, “I don’t know why you don’t use a crock pot.”

Some moms were born Domestic Goddesses. They are the ones that have individual, HEALTHY snacks neatly packed in color coded Tupperware containers in alphabetical in order in a pristine cooler at the pool, sports field or family activity. They are the ones whose daughters always wear big bows. They make organic dinners every night. They coupon. They have organized pantries and clean house. I have never and will never be confused as a Domestic Goddess. Therefore, my little Sunday preparation plan is especially gratifying.

Sunday morning. Planned out meals for the week. Went shopping and was home in 1:15. Groceries up. Prep started. I chopped the ingredients for the mango/peach salsa (mangos were even on sale), de-thawed the fish and set about cooking 4 chicken breasts (on sale) in the crock-pot.

Fast forward. By early evening I had a HUGE container of homemade salsa to be used later in the week. My chicken was cooked and shredded and yes, I did do this task while irritated at a spouse so that chicken was shredded paper-thin.

Monday. Workday. Got home and viola! Found myself 2 steps ahead in the whole, ‘what’s for dinner’ dilemma. I knew what we were having and the time consuming ingredient was already ready. All I had to do was boil some water and throw some jumbo shells in. Grabbed the pre-cooked, pre-shredded, economical chicken and prepared my CHICKEN PESTO SHELLS using ingredients that I will use again later this week for pizza night. Whoop, whoop. Yay me. I feel like a million bucks. Again, for those of you who are automatic domestic divas please don’t be snarky. For those of us that are domestically challenged you will understand the magnitude of this.

Chicken Pesto Shells for the Non-domestic Goddess + extras for your picky eaters

· When on sale purchase 4 chicken breasts.

· Throw into a crock-pot. Add a bottle of cheap Italian dressing. A little salt and some seasoning—a sprinkle of basil and oregano worked for me.
· Cook.
· After a few hours stick a fork in it. If it’s white and falls off the chicken bone, it’s done.
· Take 2 forks and shred that chicken. Ideal task when irritated at your spouse.

· Boil some water in a big pot. Add a little bit of olive oil.

· Add Jumbo Shells and cook as long as the package tells you to.

· While those are cooking grab 4 oz cream cheese, about 2-3 cups of your shredded chicken, 3 tablespoons (or whatever looks good) of prepared pesto, a handful or so of any white cheese available in your frig. If you have borderline Domestic Goddess tendencies and need like exact information then add 1 cup of parmesan, mozzarella or asiago cheese add some garlic (pre-prepared works GREAT for me) and mix.

· Take shells out and drain. Run under cold water.

· Take a spoonful of the chicken mixture, stuff into the shells and lay in a pan. The ratio of this recipe is off. I used about ½ the box of shells and all the mixture. For the remaining shells I yelled (non-domestic goddesses holler, yes we do) for my son. He meandered in and concocted his own filling combination: cheddar cheese, bacon bits, left over hamburgers crumbled up, pepperonis. He placed those in his own pan.

· Cover both with cheese. Cook uncovered about 30 min in a 450degree oven.

I had dinner, lunch the next day for my husband and I and lunch for my 12-yr old son. All because of a crock-pot. My mama was right!

Leave a Reply

