Get over it

Discombobulated.  Disengaged.  Wacky.

There are a variety of ways to describe my current state.  I am sure the actual word used  depends on the person you ask.  My children would probably use the word MEAN.  My husband, well his word of choice might not be printable.  My friends would probably sigh and use a $20 word to describe a .10 cent condition.  Regardless of the word; my condition is clear:  I just ain’t right.

  •  Birthday blues?  Possibly. 
  • Stuck-in-a-rut blues?  Maybe.
  • Lackofcontrol-it-is?  Definitely.
  • Hormones?  Could be.  You know, a woman of my age….see previous blog
  • Frustration? Umm hmm.

 If this were a physician visit we could check off symptoms, condition and move right into remedies.  Wish it were that easy.  How does a middle-aged woman (my God when did that happen) get herself out of the doldrums?  I have a million things to be thankful for and I am truly thankful for all that I have.  Everyday I remind myself of all the challenges that others are facing that I am not and I tell myself to MAN UP and DEAL.   Myself doesn’t listen.

 Exercise.  That helps, right.  All the articles say so.  Endorphin release.  Better energy.  More self-esteem.  Exercise is like the magic elixir from fairy tales.  Poof.  A bit of sweat and everything is all better.  Umm Hmmm.  My fairy tale elixir bottle got broken.  Endoprhines…I must have been born without them.  There is plenty more to say on that subject but that is another blog for another day.  Suffice it to say that exercise is not the solution I thought it would be. 

 A good night sleep, eating right (ha), vacation….all the common cures for a good old case of the blues. Well check to getting good nights sleep.  Semi-check to the eating right and check on the vacation.  Still down.  Forget yoga, mediation or medication.   Guess I just need to take the advice of anonymous posters on PINTREST and

“Pour yourself a glass of wine, put on some lipstick, hike up your big girl panties and get over it.”  

Leave a Reply

