Humility

hu·mil·i·ty/(h)yo͞oˈmilitē/

Noun:  a modest or low view of one’s own importance; humbleness.

Verb:  lower (someone) in dignity or imporance

Apparently the universe felt as if I was not humble enough.  So it, the universe, decided to fix that.  By the looks of things I had no humility in any part of my life since I seem to be getting a good dose of it in EVERY sector.  As a mom, a wife, a friend, a worker, a person….a big old dose of HUMBLE pie has been served up to me.  In some cases I’ve gotten multiple servings.  You name it- I am bad at it. My bad day went to a bad week; which dragged on to a bad month and is now creating a bad season.  One hit right after another.  Some of them I have been armed for but most of them have been surprise attacks that have hit me squarely between the eyes.  “Didn’t see that one coming,” I said about the first few zingers.  “That’s going to leave a mark,” I’ve thought about the really big ones.  “Really?!?” has become a motto.  That looking for an A+ moments in an F kind of day attitude that I started my year off with has become harder and harder to do.  I keep trying.  Or rather I know I should keep trying.  To be honest, trying to be positive takes a little more effort then I have left at the end of the day.  All I can seem to do is plug along, take things as they come and deal with things one at a time.  Along the way I try and learn by my mistakes and admit to myself the things I’ve been wrong about.    It is what it is.  Sometimes that is all you can say.  That and a few 4 letter words. 

Can’t even get this to post correctly.  Guess that it’s just in case there was a shred of my  ego left.

Leave a Reply

