It is the little things

Gratitude is a funny thing. Sure, we all remember to say THANKS for the big things that happen to us.  We are all appreciative when GRAND things happen but sometimes, those tiny, little bitty, every day ‘things’ happen and we never once give them the thanks they deserve. 

 I am thankful that my husband knows I am horrible in the morning and try to help by having a cup of coffee waiting for me.

I am thankful that I caught the green light that I never catch this morning; which saved a much-needed 3 minutes.

I am thankful when that little red button on facebook shows I have a message.  I feel like Sally Field thinking, ‘someone likes me, they really, really like me’.

I am thankful for tight hugs from a little chunky girl who missed me.  I am even more thankful when she gives that same tree frog; body hugs to her daddy, her bubba and her sissy. 

this just makes me happy

this just makes me happy

I am thankful for those moments when we are all in the same room, co-existing with no drama.

I am thankful when my daughter PAUSES and then says YES ma’am even though I know she wanted to argue. 

I am thankful when I PAUSE and don’t immediately fly-off-the-handle at my daughter.

I am thankful when my car is on empty but not so empty that I can’t make it to work without filling up.

I am thankful for elastic waistbands that give a little when I gave-in a little and ate too much.

I am thankful for boots.  And the attitude that goes along with a good pair of boots.

I am thankful for songs.  Good, beat-thumping songs that have you tapping your foot and singing along.

I am thankful for those songs that make you tear up a little bit and remind you of the bigger things in life.

I am thankful for glitter because glitter just makes me happy.

I am thankful for my iPhone, heated seats, flavored water, flavored coffee creamer, warm socks and quilts—those things I use EVERYDAY.

I am thankful for a husband who takes awesome pictures because I have a keepsake for most of the precious moments of my life.

I am thankful for fun, funky shoes.

Not your average old lady shoes

totally tacky and totally me

I am thankful for hair dye  (or I will be after Saturday) and the differnce that a haircut can make in your outlook on life.

I am thankful for friends who dare me to be bold, goad me into being better, shame me into being proud of myself, bring out the best in me, curse with me when needed and who laugh at me or with me when warranted.

I am thankful for moments when I think, “I did good” and for those moments when I know that I could have done better.

I am thankful for Pintrest. 

I am thankful for baby checks, little curls, big doe-like brown eyes, skinny chicken legs and freckles.

I am thankful for sweet memories and hopeful that I’ll get to make more.

I am thankful for a lot of things that I don’t think about often enough.

One thought on “It is the little things

Leave a Reply

