A change 

  I am 45 years old today. I blew out my candles and made a single wish:  I want to change my story. 

This year I need to change my story. 

I am not yet sure how I am going to accomplish this…but I know it means getting out of my comfort zone and pushing myself out of the past and headlong into the future. My future. 

Today at lunch I shared my wish with my tribe. The response was immediate. Some were like “I am in!” while others threw out great ideas. One friend asked,”what is it you want to be-strong, quirky, fun, adventurous…” My response was immediate-I want to be all of those things. I want to be ME. 

I do want an adventure. Go somewhere or do something—I don’t care. I need another warrior dash. 

I want to do something fun for me-not the mom me-the ME me. The thing is–I don’t even know what fun for me looks like anymore. But I want to remember…

I want to zip line, jump out of an airplane or run and obstacle race. I need to get up, get moving and quit allowing the blahs to anchor me in my chair. Excercise, kick box, Zumba, yoga-SOMETHING. One thing is for certain, I am not going to change my story it I don’t do some work on me. 

Get out of ruts, break free of pre-conceived notions, be less stressed and more creative….I need to do those things again. I want to laugh with glee because I’ve figured something out. I want to have time to think of new ideas. I need to quit letting what others think of me matter. I need to quit comparing me to THEM. I don’t know how I am going to accomplish this but I know that to do it some things are going to have to change. 

Hikes, trips, tattoos, new goals-the suggestions were fast and furious. I have a lot to think about. A lot to plan for and a lot to consider. 

One of the most exciting suggestions both excited and terrified me…that I consider attending a blogging convention. A place where real writers go and learn from each other. Real. Writers. But to even consider such a grand idea I would have to believe I was a real writer. Rather-I would have to believe I was a real writer with people who read what I write. Even more importantly I would have to believe I was a real writer with people who read what I write and to whom what I write makes them feel something…irritation at my grammatical errors, laughter at the predicaments I find myself in, understanding at what I face…basically anything at all. 

So on my birthday I am going to give myself a present—I am going to ask if you read what I write and you (I can’t make myself use the word like)…and well if anything I have written pleased you or helped you or just was enjoyable to you in any way…well…let me know. 

However I elect to change my story is sure to be documented here because, right or wrong, writing is very much a part of who I am. No matter how I change my story me telling my stories will be at the center of it-either published or not. 

12 thoughts on “A change 

  1. I read and I love it! The validation that someone else deals with the same problems and craziness that i do, in one way or another, is enough to keep me coming back. You probably don’t remember, but you were the first person I showed my tattoo to three years ago. You were so supportive of my decision to do it. I will gladly go with you should you decide to get one. If you jump out of a plane, I’m in! Seriously! Love you, Libby. Happy Birthday! It’s gonna be a great year!

  2. I love reading your blogs! You make me laugh, you nearly always make me cry and you make me remember. I love what you do and don’t you dare ever stop.

  3. Of course I read your blog. Not just so I can keep up with your family though. I read it so see what kind of “libby isms” are written today. You have a beautiful way of writing and putting things into perspective. You find humor in the worst of situations and you help those of use cursed with Hayes luck know we are not alone. Don’t ever give it up… As a matter of fact I think you should write daily, you know, between swim, baseball, work, toting kids around and all the home cooking you do.

  4. I enjoy reading your posts very much. They reveal the ups and downs of your current life without the poor me rant, you make plans and complete them. You protest all ranges of emotion honestly. I am looking forward to reading on.

  5. Just wanted to confirm in writing … I have cried with you, hurt with you, laughed with you and celebrated with you through your stories. This has got to be a part of your new story! ❤️

Leave a Reply

