Twice blessed

Tomorrow is a special day for someone very special to me. When I count my blessings I count her twice: once as a leader and once as a friend.

She said “I believe in you” when no one else did. She took my strengths and gave them a home. She believed in me when my belief in myself was a little shaky and she only wavered once. Her confidence gave me confidence. 

It was her that taught me doing the right thing isn’t always easy. But doing the right thing is always right. 

I’ve learned that loyalty is earned and she’s earned mine. Unwavering loyalty. 

She’s taught me the glass can always be half full. She laughs and sees the good in everything even going so far as to see my pessimism as positive sometimes. Often she sees good that no one else can see. 

She’s beaten odds and epitomizes strength. The fight make her stronger but not harder. I admire that. 

Her faith is as much a part of her as her smile, her micheviousness and the twinkle in her eyes. I’ve learned a lot about faith from her words but more importantly by her actions. She lives a humble, giving and faithful life that defines what I  seek when learning to be faithful. She radiates in her faith and compels others to find their own. 

She’s beautiful. She’s also one of the most intelligent people I know-she’s street smart and all knowing. She’s quick witted and kind hearted. She’s loving and kind and hardworking. She’s an inspiration. 

I work hard hoping to make her proud. I work hard to try and help ease her workload. I work hard for her because I will always owe her for taking a chance on me. 

She’s taught me how to lead-not boss. Her lessons are illustrated-not preached. Lessons like:

  • Empowerment is stronger than commands
  • Respect is earned
  • Be the hardest worker on the team and others will follow
  • Lead my example
  • Encouragement gets more done than criticism
  • Help nuture others strengths and help them polish their weaknesses
  • Support-don’t dictate
  • Trust others and be someone others can trust

It was this lady that first knew the unforeseen direction my life took a few years ago. She didn’t say a lot, didn’t ask a lot of questions, didn’t demand a lot of answers but she hugged me when I needed it. Quietly she gave my babies an Easter when I couldn’t and she wouldn’t allow me to see it as charity. She asked me to see it as a gift. 

We’ve been down some long and dark roads but we’ve found our way together. I don’t know where the road we are on now leads but I’ll follow her until there is no road left. 

I am blessed to have her lead me and even more blessed to have her as my friend. I don’t share much with her now but I know I could. 

I admire her and respect her. I look up to her and learn from her. I am proud to work with her and for her and am prouder still that I am able to say I love her. 

Her day is tomorrow and I hope it’s happy. She deserves happiness for all the joy she brings to others. 

Leave a Reply

